Banquet 2013 Launch

The Ulster GAA Writers' Association members and friends will celebrate their 26th year in existence at their annual banquet in the Great Northern Hotel, Bundoran, on Friday, November 15 when the annual awards, in all branches of the GAA, will be announced and presented.
This yearly gathering of the Gaels is one of the biggest of its kind and is attended by GAA officials from all nine Ulster counties, and Croke Park, with representatives from GAA branches in schools and colleges also among the guests. Winning captains and managers will be there with their silverware to proudly show off their good work for the season.
Awards are presented in men's and women's football, in hurling and camogie, men's and women's handball, communications, refereeing and Services to Gaelic Games, the winner of which gets the John McAviney Trophy. A Young Achiever of the Year is also announced and will receive the Cormac McAnallen Award and the chairman will announce his special annual award winner. Each of the winners will receive the specially engraved and donated Belleek Living Vase, a hand crafted item from Omeath jeweller Garret Mallon and GAA gear from O'Neill's International Sports. All guests also receive an individual gift.

A charity raffle is organised each year and, to date, over £30,000 has been distributed to various charities. thanks to the generosity of the guests, many of whom have been attending the function every year.

The date for your diary is Friday 15 November and tickets are now on sale and can be purchased from members of the UGAAWA - see for a list of members - or book your ticket, £50 (€60) from or the Great Northern Hotel, phone (00 353) 71 984 1204.
There are three nominees in each of Football, Hurling and Camogie while only one in the other categories.

Footballer of the Year: Sean Cavanagh; Cian Mackey; Colin Walshe
Hurler of the Year: Paul Braniff; Neal McAuley; Neil McManus

Ladies’ Footballer of the Year: Caitriona McConnell; Therese McNally; Caoimhe Mohan

Camog of the Year: Sara Louise Carr; Grainne McGoldrick; Catherine McGourty


At the launch in the Great Northern Hotel, Bundoran: Brian McEniff, Cllr. Michael McMahon; Philip McGlynn, Greath Northern; karen McEniff, great Northern; Brian Og McEniff, Great Northern; and members of the UGAAWA Banquet committee - John martin, John Graham, Paddy Hunter and Gerry McLoughlin. Also present was Peter Campbell of the Donegal Democrat.