Banquet 2007.

It was another night of celebration at the Great Northern Hotel when close on 600 people enjoyed the 20th staging of the Writers' annual awards function. Among the guests were Uachtarán Nioclás Ó Braonián agus Bean and the newly-elected Ard Stiúrthóir Paraic Ó Dufaigh who was attending his first social occasion since being elected.

Also enjoying the night were Ulster vice-President Aoghan Farrell, PRO Michael Hasson and treasurer Martin McAviney. The Ulster President Tom Daly missed the function because of being in Rome for elevation of Archbishop Sean Brady to Cardinal.

A variety of trophies won by Ulster counties and clubs were paraded in to begin the event and after dinner the annual awards were presented. The specially designed awards were provided by Belleek Pottery while each recipient also received a silver picture frame with the UGAAWA motif in the corner, compliments of Omeath jeweller Garret Mallon, a two-day break in one of the Brian McEniff Hotels provided by Bank of Ireland and a polo shirt from Pro*Star Sport.

Ladies' gifts - Santa china decorations - came compliments of Belleek Pottery while Galway Crystal provided gifts for the VIPs. The gents' gift was a black bow-tie with the UGAAWA logo on it. These were provided by the writers.

The Chairman's Award went to former Crossmaglen Rangers' secretary Margaret McConville while Oisin McConville, Claire Doherty (Derry Camogie), Neil Gallagher (Donegal) and Gareth Haughey (Omagh CBS) received bronze statues, compliments of Portadown Sports Goods shop owner Nigel McBride, in recognition of leading their teams to All-Ireland success.

Fear a Ti for the evening was Adrian Logan, a former chairman of the UGAAWA and still an active member while music for dancing was provided by Gary Gamble and his band from Strabane. A highlights video of the year's activity was compiled by Jerome Quinn (BBC) and shown on the night.

Winners, Officials and Guests at the ‘07 Banquet.