The 22nd Ulster GAA Writers’ Annual Banquet.

Sponsored by Quinn Insurance

The first UGAAWA banquet was held at the then Greenan Lodge in Belfast in 1988 when the seeds of success were sewn. Just over 200 people attended that function but since then the patrons have grown to as many as 650. We have now reached the 22nd function that will be held at the Slieve Russell Hotel on Friday, November 20 when the guests will include Ard Stiúrthóir Paraic Ó Dubhaigh, Ulster President Tom Daly and Ulster Secretary Danny Murphy.


Other representatives from the various branches of the GAA in the province will be in attendances, as well as, the winners of our Quinn Insurance Monthly Merit Award.

Trophies won by Ulster teams at All-Ireland level will be on display along with senior trophies won in Ulster during 2009.

The highlight of the evening will be, as usual, the naming of our Annual Award winners in men and women’s football, hurling, camogie, handball, refereeing, communications, Young Achiever, Personality of the Year and Services to the GAA. The winners will be presented with their Belleek China trophies plus other awards.

Fear a Tí will be Austin O’Callaghan from BBC and a brief video highlights of the season will be shown.

Rounding off the celebrations there will be dancing to Ronnie Griffiths & American Pie and during the evening a charity ballot will be organised in aid of Autism and the Alzheimer’s Society.

This is a black tie function and the contact for the purchase of tickets is Tony McGee (028.90600833 or 07960.531170). Price £50 or €60.

Quinn Insurance Internal Sales Manager Shane McCabe welcomes UGAAWA chairman Jerry Quinn along with other members plus Ulster President Tom Daly, Tyrone manager Mickey Harte, Antrim ladies' football captain Geardine McCann and county footballers Enda McGinley, Marty McGrath and Barry Owens to the launch of the UGAAWA annual banquet to be held at Slieve Russell on November 20.