The 22nd Ulster GAA Writers’ Annual Banquet.

Sponsored by Quinn Insurance

Flooded roads, many of them closed, throughout Ulster at the weekend didn't  deter almost 500 people from attending the Ulster GAA Writers' annual  banquet, at the Slieve Russell Hotel where the yearly honours were  distributed.

Among the attendance were various personalities from sponsors Quinn  Insurance, including the boss man himself, Sean Quinn, GAA Ard Stiúrthóir  Paraic Duffy, Ulster President Tom Daly plus secretary Danny Murphy,  Treasurer Martin McAviney and PRO Michael Hasson. In attendance, too, was John Maguire, MD of Belleek Pottery, suppliers of the annual and monthly trophies.

Other special guests were World handball champions from Ulster and members of the Ulster Football team and their mentors, the recent winners of a record 29th MD Donnelly Interprovincial Championship title.

The Personality of the Year award went to Derryman, Liam Bradley, the manager
of the Antrim football team that created a surprise in Ulster football this year while creating a record was Pat McEneaney. The Monaghan whistler received the Referee of the Year Award for a fifth time. World Open champion Paul Brady collected the Handball Award and Fiona Shannon, who like Brady won a record third World Open title, was presented with Chairman Jerry Quinn's Award.

Awards were presented in 11 categories covering all aspects of the GAA while Ulster President Tom Daly handed over the interpro medals to the Ulster players and management.

Tom Daly also received a present from Chairman Jerry Quinn on behalf of the UGAAWA members - a painting of Rossnowlagh Beach by Fermanagh artist Jo Tinney - to mark the end of his term in office. Tom will hand over the reins to a new Ulster President in February.
By Tony McGee

The list of annual winners can be found HERE


UGAAWA Annual Award Winners at the Association's Quinn Insurance-sponsored banquet in the Slieve Russell Hotel. Front (L to R): Bernie Mullan, Derry (Services to GAA), Caroline Little, Fermanagh (Lady Footballer), Liam Bradley, Antrim (Personality), Pauric Duffy (GAA Ard Stiúrthóir), Grainne McGoldrick, Derry (Camogie), Sean Quinn MD Quinn Group, Fiona Shannon, Antrim (Chairman's Award). Back (L to R): John Maguire MD Belleek Pottery, Jerry Quinn, UGAAWA Chairman, Damian Harvey, Tyrone (Representing Footballer of the Year Kevin Hughes), Pat McEneaney, Monaghan (Referee), Neil McManus , Antrim (Hurler), Fergal McCormack, Warrenpoint GAC (Communications), Paul Brady, Cavan (Handball), Michael Murphy, Donegal (Young Achiever), Tom Daly (Ulster President). Picture © Jim Dunne.

Members of the Record winning Ulster Football team and management, with Ulster Council members, who were guests at the UGAAWA Banquet in the Slieve Russell Hotel. Picture © Jim Dunne.

On right Jerry Quinn (UGAAWA chairman) making a presentation of a picture of Rossnowlagh Beach by artist Jo Tinney to outgoing Ulster President Tom Daly while on left Quinn Group MD Sean Quinn presents Antrim football manager, Liam Bradley, with the Personality of the Year award at the UGAAWA banquet.

Pictures © Jim Dunne

More pictures HERE