Banquet 2010 Launch.

Click on any of the individual photos above and you should hear some of what they said at the launch.

We are looking forward to having your photo added to our pictorial of the 2010 Banquet. See you there.

Tohill launches 23rd Quinn Insurance GAA Writers’ Banquet

Ireland International Rules manager Anthony Tohill took time out from his preparations for next month’s tests against the Australians to back the biggest night of the Ulster GAA calendar when he launched the 23rd Quinn Insurance Ulster GAA Writers’ Banquet.

Tohill won the UGAAWA Footballer of the Year Award back in 2000 and was on hand yesterday to launch the annual awards celebration which this year will be held at the Slieve Russell Hotel, Co Cavan.

“The Ulster GAA Writers’ Banquet has become an integral part of the Ulster GAA calendar. The writers’ awards have always been highly-regarded by the players and it is the only awards function that honours players, referees and officials from all GAA codes,” said Tohill.

UGAAWA Chairman JP Graham looked forward to another successful function which has remained popular since the inaugural banquet back in 1988.

“Over the years the GAA writers’ banquet has worked its way into the heart of Ulster Gaels. It is the banquet of the grass-roots Gael,” he said.

“There are guests who have not missed a year since our very first banquet 22 years ago. They relax alongside players, managers, and former greats from all codes who come to celebrate all that is good about Gaelic Games in Ulster.

“Our generous sponsorship from Quinn Insurance has allowed us to keep the keep the cost of our tickets to a minimum, ensuring the banquet is accessible and affordable to club members throughout the province.”

Shane McCabe, Regional Broker Manager with sponsors Quinn Insurance added: “We are delighted to be associated with the Ulster GAA Writers’ Association. Their annual and monthly awards are as much part of the Ulster GAA scene as Clones or Casement Park. We are looking forward to another successful banquet that will honour the brightest and the best in Gaelic games in the province.”


martin mcaviney.wav anthony tohill.wav shane mc cabe.wav John P at Launch.wav John Campbell.wav